Chilli Ninja Bread

Bread Dough

A few days ago I made my version of Chilli bread with my wife’s lovely bread recipe. We make bread every week on Saturdays/Sundays instead of buying loaves from the shop all the time. Also, we find it so much more rewarding to bake our own bread.  Up until a couple of weeks ago Astra (my wife) had made all our fantastic range of breads on the regular – but recently she showed me how to do it and it’s surprising simple if you set aside the time to do it – which isn’t that much time anyway.

This is her brilliant recipe:

1 Kilo of Strong White Bread Flour

2 & Half Packets of Fast Active Yeast

2 Tablespoons of Sugar

2 Teaspoons of Salt

Just under 1 Pint of Warm Water

2 Well Oiled Bread Tins

Chillininja’s addition:

Fresh, Chopped Chillies

I’ve read many other recipes for Chilli bread and a lot of people use dry Chillies, but this is the way I do it which seems to work and tastes great!  On this occasion I used a few Filius Blue, one Culinary Thai, and one Jalepeno  – It’s best not to use too many Chillies, less is more.

Preparing:

I mixed the dry ingredients together first in a big bowl, and then added the water to the middle.  I then slowly stirred in the flour mix from the edges into the water.

I kneaded it for 10 minutes – Cut the dough in half and placed into my two oiled bread tins and left to rise in warm place until dough doubled in size.

After it had risen it was time to knead again for 2/3 minutes with chillies mixed in.  Kneading is very important as it removes the air pockets.

Homemade Bread

I left them to rise again in the oiled tins.

Baking

Once the dough has risen again it’s time to place into pre-heated oven for 35 minutes at 180 Degrees Celsius. Astra has a routine of turning or rotating the tins after 20 minutes so that the bread gets evenly baked which worked perfectly on this occasion.  My full credit for this no nonsense but fantastic bread making goes to her.

This is just a guide however, so keep an eye on your bread and remove when you think it is ready. Chillininja

Sliced Fresh Bread

Please Note: I am not a food preparation expert and that, with all my recipes that I try out at home, it is a mixture of internet/cookbook research and experimentation so please use the necessary precautions when baking your own Chilli Bread or any of the other recipes on my blog. Thanks.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Chilli Ninja Bread

  1. Lovely post, thanks for sharing

  2. OH what a delicious idea. I looks really tasty.

  3. The other day at bakery school we were allowed to make whatever we fancied with the ingredients in the store cupboard and I made sour dough chilli and cheese baps. They were awesome but next time I would add even more chilli to give an extra kick. Great post.

    • Chilli Ninja says:

      Thank you so much for all your interest in my very humble blog. Chilli & cheese sounds fantastic – add a bit of mayo & sliced beef and that would be a serious sandwich :)

What do you think?

