Chocolate Chilli Cake

My wife & I are doing a collaboration post today! She is the brilliant & lovely, A Journey to a Dream blog. Check it out if you would like to see her post on this recipe.

So, we decided to bake a delicious chocolate cake based on the recipe we used for our wedding cake earlier this year (she & her wee cousin William baked that one). The difference this time is, that we would be adding a Scotch Bonnet Chilli!

I always wanted to make Chilli chocolate and I thought since we have a fantastic cake recipe, why not merge the two. I have a lot of SB’s just ready to pick as late maturers so lately we have been looking for ways to use them. Apart from freezing & drying it is a great opportunity to experiment a bit in the kitchen by making some red hot homemade dishes.

These particular Scotch Bonnets are scorching so I would recommend using small amounts of them or use them in larger dishes like spicy hot pots, soups and meals like jambalaya & bolognese.

Right down to business!

Ingredients

1 half cup of Vegetable Oil

125g Butter

1 half cup of Cocoa

1 cup of Water

2 cups of Flour

2 cups of Sugar

1 rounded teaspoon of Bicarb

1 half cup of Buttermilk

2 Eggs

1 rounded teaspoon of Vanilla Essence

1 Scotch Bonnet Chilli!

Chocolate Cake Mix

Baking

Preheat the oven to 180 degress C and grease two cake tins.

Boil the oil, water, butter, cocoa & water together.

Measure the flour, sugar & bicarb into a bowl.

Add the boiled ingredients and mix well with a wooden spoon.

Measure the buttermilk in a jug, add the eggs and vanilla essence. mix together and add the other ingredients.

Add the chopped up chilli to the mix

Pour into the tin and bake for approximately 40 minutes.

Allow to cool in the tin

We had the kitchen smelling amazing and three fantastically spicy cakes, now cooled, but they weren’t complete without the icing which I think adds that extra chocolaty goodness. After heating the chocolate until it was runny, wifey spread it over the top of our cakes. She is very handy at the finishing touches and the final presentation – for her it’s serious business :) I really love baking and cooking with her as the whole time we are chatting away about our plans, cracking jokes and generally having fun.

Well with it all done I decided that it was time to dice a bit of fresh Chilli and sprinkle it over the mini cake as you can see in the first picture. As my wife is a bit of a Chilli wimp, I think that was one step to far for her to have a bite of that one. If you are like her and only enjoy a milder heat, there are so many types to chose from to suit which is best for you.

There we have it, no longer just a dream – Chilli chocolate cake.

I’d love to hear about spicy choc cakes or deserts you have baked or tried. Chilli Ninja

Please Note: I am not a food preparation expert and that, with all my recipes I try out at home, it is a mixture of internet/cookbook research and experimentation so please use the necessary precautions when preparing & baking your own Chilli Cake or any of the other recipes on my blog. (Sorry to be so serious) Thanks.

Tagged , , , , , ,

17 thoughts on “Chocolate Chilli Cake

  1. realfunfood says:

    I am loving your blog! I love how the whole theme is chilies, and this recipe looks great. I love spicy chocolate stuff. I’m so sorry it took me so long to respond to your comments on my blog. I’ve been terribly busy but I really hope I’m back for good now. Glad I found your blog!

    • Chillininja says:

      wow – thank you so much for the lovely comment! Very happy you like my site, I’m still very new to the blogging world and it is a work in progress to get it looking how I want. So I appreciate that you and others are stopping by to check it out.
      No worries about my comments on your blog – I love your site and definitely will check it out again soon.
      Glad you like the chilli theme :)

  2. This cake looks insanely delicious! Love the photos, too.

    • Chillininja says:

      Thanks Savoury Simple! It is extremely delicious with a good amount of chilli heat! We bought some double cream to go with it tonight after dinner. Thanks for checking out my blog again.

  3. I’ve been meaning to make a chocolate chilli cake for a while – when I make my own version you’ll have to see it :D. Yours looks truly incredible… not sure if I’ll be able to top it to be honest.

  4. Chillininja says:

    That’s really nice of you to say but judging by the fantastic meals you put together I think you’ll be able to match it no problem.
    Chilli & chocolate are great ingredients to mix and I hope this has inspired you to give your version a go :)

  5. Mark Willis says:

    Hi Chiilininja; Your cakes sound and look fab. You should try making chilli chocolate ice cream – it’s heavenly! We made some last year and had it on Christmas Day. It made a nice change from stodgy old Christmas Pud and custard!

    • Chillininja says:

      Thanks Mark – wow, chilli chocolate ice cream sounds brilliant and I would definitely love to give it a go! I’m all for adding some extra spice to Christmas too so maybe my wife and I will have it for our after dinner dessert :) What way do you recommend making it?

  6. This looks amazing! What a lovely idea for a cake, and it’s a great way to use up your chillies.

  7. Chilli has got to be one of my staple foods. Yet, i’ve never seen one so cute and round as the ones you use… :)

    • Chilli Ninja says:

      Yeah me too, I use Chilli in everything!! The cute ones are Filius Blue and this is the first year I grew that specific variety, they are fantastic! Very Spicy early on but milder when they mature (but still spicy). Thanks for checking out my blog.

  8. Tracey says:

    I too am a ‘chilli wimp’ and I’ve never tasted chilli and chocolate together either. This looks like a great chocolate cake even if I’m not adventurous enough to add the chilli in!

    Although, you do mention milder chilli’s, what would you recommend to use as a very mild chilli?

    • Chilli Ninja says:

      Hi Tracey! This IS a great chocolate cake even without the Chilli. As I mentioned, it was the same recipe we used for our wedding this year that had no Chillies in it – everybody loved it and we had amazing left over cake for ages after. Chilli & chocolate are kindred spirits and are both destined to be used together in brilliant desserts until the end of time :)
      As you have confessed to being a chilli wimp like my wife, I would recommend Jalapeno which are very mild but also have a nice subtle kick and a good starting point in finding your Chilli threshold.

  9. I have been meaning to make and try a chilli chocolate cake for a while and this has just given me to push do to it. Looks great! I have also heard wasabi chocolate it fantastic which I guess is on the same lines as chilli :)

What do you think?

