Seaweed Fertiliser – Give Your Chillies a Super Boost!

Seaweed Fertiliser is a magic weapon for growing not just chillies but anything really and popular in certain parts of Ireland. It is free, works better than anything you can buy, and you get a huge batch of it for very little work. The only thing you need to set aside… is time. It takes a month or so to ‘brew’ if you like. I normally give it at least 2 months and in the hotter weather it becomes even more potent as it ferments. So each year in very early Spring I head to the shore to one of our many local beautiful but freezing beaches (yes we have beaches here in Ireland – actually in the height of the summer I recommend Keel Beach, Achill Co. Mayo, you will be hard pressed to find a better beach in Europe) and fill up two large shopping bags with seaweed lying on the beach.

Chilli-Ninja_Seaweed-Fertiliser1

Next, I lay it out on the lawn and give it a super rinse to take away most of the salt. All you need then is to get yourself a big container or a couple of large buckets like I have done and put the seaweed in and fill it up with water, simple. I also like to rid my garden of any early nettles and mix that in two. Nettles also make an excellent fertiliser so it feels natural to use them together :)

Chilli-Ninja_Seaweed-Fertiliser2

Chilli-Ninja_Seaweed-Fertiliser3

So generally I just leave the mixture sitting and just stir it every so often throughout the months. I’m really excited to use it on my new batch of chillies. I only use it on my outdoor chillies in the greenhouse however because it smells soo bad, but it is worth the smell trust me. The first time I used seaweed fertiliser I couldn’t believe how much my plants burst into super growth! I would recommend using it only on planted out established Chillies in a ten to one dilution as it is quite strong.
Have you ever made your own homemade fertilisers? I’d love to hear about them or any different types.

Chilli Ninja.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Seaweed Fertiliser – Give Your Chillies a Super Boost!

  1. James says:

    Looks great. I think i’ll have to give this a go!

    • Chilli Ninja says:

      Hey Chilli King! Thanks for checking out my blog :) Yours is awesome and I’ve know about it for some time – I’d love to hear about your experiences with this type of fertiliser (although it might be a bit late for this year) Where are you situated?

What do you think?

